Wet Weather


Photo by Joe Reifer

Over the past month, as we have finally had some periods of rain, I have been asked whether I walk in the wet weather. Yes — I enjoy walking in a mist or light rain, but I do try to plan walks so that I do not get caught in a downpour. I also like being out on a walk right after a heavy period of rain, to observe its effects on the city environment. I have not seen too much heavy flooding, though water tends to accumulate at many street corners; I have wished on more than a few occasions that I had rain boots.

Growing up in the San Francisco area, I got used to hearing about the landslides that happen every year that we had heavy rains. The photos would regularly appear in the local newspapers showing a family beside their home in the Santa Cruz Mountains or up by the Russian River that had slid several feet down a hill. Despite knowing this, I was not aware until moving to Berkeley that there were concerns in the hills here as well. Up in the hills along the Hayward earthquake fault are zones where homes have slowly been shifting down the hill (sometimes even creating property line disputes) and where there is potential danger of more serious landslides. Despite the headache of dealing with the concerns that come with having a house in the potential landslide zone, it seems that many people are willing to take the risk (or would take the risk if the could afford to live there) for the chance to live somewhere where they can see the Golden Gate Bridge from their window or deck.

3 Comments »

  1. Tell Joe that was a great photo!

    I got a bit damp during my walkt this morning too. It wasn’t raining when I left but I got caught on the way home! Very unsettled weather right now in Northern California.

  2. Tell Joe that was a great photo!

    I got a bit damp during my walk this morning too. It wasn’t raining when I left but I got caught on the way home! Very unsettled weather right now in Northern California.

  3. […] Filed under Architecture, Walking Philosophy Earlier this year I had a few things to say about wet weather, but now that it rained last week and it is raining again on and off this week, I thought I’d […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

