Looking Into the Windows


Besides the windows themselves, I find myself looking for what I can see through the windows. No, I am not talking about being a peeping tom and spying on people, though it is interesting to observe how private or public people are with their lives inside their homes. Some people have the front windows covered, while others go about their lives with the curtains wide open. But I have also found many interesting objects placed or displayed in windows throughout Berkeley. Of course there are the political signs and seasonal decorations, but also plants, children’s drawings, toys, bottles, jars of collected items such as shells and rocks, figurines, and more.

In some neighborhoods, buildings that once housed corner markets or other businesses are now private residences. The large front windows and display areas have sometimes been re-purposed to create personal art galleries. I have made a point to go by the window pictured here, which has displays that are occasionally changed or replaced. Most of the displays feature wood, textiles, and vaguely political messages. This one caught my eye because of its mysterious nature. Considering the past political themes, I first thought it was a reference to the President. If I had come to this window for the first time, though, I would think that it was a message to someone in the artist’s personal life. I have never seen anyone at the house, so it will have to remain a mystery for now.

4 Comments »

  1. neath said

    Hi there,

    I have a blog called Walking Turcot Yards where I report of happenings and my own experience in an abandoned rail yard in Montreal, Canada. The whole “walking” concept is pretty cool and I expect to expand my tour. Will post a link to your site!

    Neath

  2. Name said

    You got it right the first time, it’s obviously a reference to the president. “Go cut some brush.” Though I don’t understand the “ruining my reputation” line. “Ruining my life,” yeah.

  3. >In some neighborhoods, buildings that once housed corner markets or other businesses are now private residences. The large front windows and display areas have sometimes been re-purposed to create personal art galleries.

    I love those buildings and was trying to land one as a rental before luck tossed a home ownership opportunity my way. Much as I love those buildings, though, I’d like to see them returned to service as neighborhood groceries (not liquor stores) and businesses. I think one of the solutions to our present and impending ecological and economic problems is going to be having that kind of neighborhood structure again. Not having to get in the car to go grocery shopping but just walking a couple blocks. If you observe the architecture in the older parts of Berkeley, you’ll see it’s just like this: there’s a converted storefront every 5 blocks or so.

  4. Spike said

    Great photos. The note is just plain weird.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

