Welcome to Walking Berkeley

This blog will document some of the interesting things I encounter in my attempt to walk every street in Berkeley, California, my current place of residence. Why am I doing this? First and foremost, I find walking to be an enjoyable activity. About five years ago I sold my car because I did not want to support all of the bad things that come along with having a car (support of the oil industry, pollution, etc.), but even before that time I had always walked a lot. I have explored on foot most places I have lived and visited. Prior to moving to Berkeley I lived on the Peninsula, which was more spread out, and I got around on bicycle more often that on foot. Upon arriving in Berkeley, I found that most places I wanted to go were within walking distance.

So why walk every street in Berkeley? At least a couple of times I have heard the suggestion of getting to know your community by walking the streets in your neighborhood. Then I read an article in the New Yorker about a man who walked every street in Manhattan. Nothing could be as interesting as walking every street in Manhattan, but I figured there might be a few things to see walking the streets of Berkeley. It is a pretty ideal size to walk; not too small, but big enough to be a challenge.

Does the world really need another blog? Although I started walking last year, I dismissed the idea of recording my experiences online. After several months of walking, though, I realized that others who live in Berkeley might enjoy learning more about the city where they live. I also hope that this blog will encourage others to get out on foot and explore the place where they live.

2 Comments »

  1. Spike said

    Thanks for the link and welcome to the world wide community of every-street walkers. Looking forward to watching your explorations. Bunged your link up on my blog also.

  2. Anonymous said

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

