House Colors

When I finish walking every street in Berkeley, I am thinking about posting a list of the “best ofs” and “mosts” from my walk. As I have been looking at the Berkeley map, I am estimating at least a few more months of walking (expect more on this in an end-of-the-year wrap-up) before this happens. I do not want jump the gun by making any proclamations, but have found a very strong contender for the brightest and most unique house colors. Berkeley has some Victorians; not nearly as many as San Francisco, but even so I had expected to see many more unique “painted ladies.” It has more often been the Mediterranean-style homes where I have seen interesting paint schemes. Berkeley readers, feel free to suggest other contenders!

2 Comments »

  1. Oh! This is so beautiful! I wish there were more houses around like this. I believe that in India and middle eastern countries there is a lot more colour on the exterior of houses.

    I have had you linked on my blog for ages but haven’t visited in a while – I am so glad I opened your page tonight – this image makes me feel good!

    SJ xx

  2. JMC said

    I’m not sure if it’s still painted in crazy colors, but there was a house on the west side of Arch street at the corner of Rose (where Rose continues East up the hill from Arch) that you should consider.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

